Chess Siberia
Home page News Openings Best players/games Software Donate Video Philosophy Interviews Reviews Literature Music Cinema FIDE Answers Old newspapers Correspondence Chess Downloads Links Chess

Viswanathan Anand

World Chess Champion Viswanathan Anand. Photo by Alexey Yushenkov
Viswanathan Anand, World Chess Championship Match, game 8, Moscow 2012. Photo by Alexey Yushenkov

Viswanathan Anand (born 1969) - chess grandmaster, World Chess Champion from 2007 to 2013. FIDE World Chess Champion from 2000 to 2002.
In 1988 Viswanathan Anand of India became chess grandmaster. In the FIDE World Chess Championship 2000 Viswanathan Anand beat in the final match Alexei Shirov 3.5-0.5 and became FIDE World Chess Champion.
In 2007 Anand won World Chess Champion title in the World Chess Championship tournament 2007 in Mexico City.
In 2008 Viswanathan Anand beat Vladimir Kramnik 6.5-4.5 in the World Chess Championship match 2008 in Bonn and defended the title.
In 2010 Viswanathan Anand won 6.5-5.5 the World Chess Championship 2010 match versus Veselin Topalov in Sofia.
In 2012 Viswanathan Anand beat challenger Boris Gelfand 8.5-7.5 in the World Chess Championship Match 2012 in Moscow and retained the title.
In 2013 Viswanathan Anand lost to Magnus Carlsen 3.5-6.5 in the World Chess Championship Match in Chennai.
In March 2014 Vishy Anand won the Candidates Tournament in Khanty-Mansiysk, and then lost to World Champion Magnus Carlsen 4.5-6.5 in November 2014 in World Chess Championship Match in Sochi (Russia).

Anand has won many chess super tournaments, e.g. Wijk aan Zee (1989, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2006), Linares (1998, 2007, 2008), Dortmund (1996, 2000, 2004) and Baden-Baden (2013). He was World Number 1 in the FIDE rating lists in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011.

Hobbies: Astronomy, Science, Movies, Running and Doing Weights. Anand likes comedy movies, especially with John Cleese of Monty Python. Music: the rock bands U2, Pet Shop Boys, Coldplay, Green Day.

The games: Anand - Shirov, WCC, Moscow 2001; Anand - Bologan, Dortmund 2003; Anand - Karpov, Sao Paulo rapid 2004; Anand - Carlsen, Linares 2007; Anand - Topalov, WCC, Sofia 2010; Anand - Gelfand, WCC, Moscow 2012; Aronian - Anand, Wijk aan Zee 2013, Mamedyarov - Anand, Khanty-Mansiysk 2014, Anand - Carlsen, WCC, Sochi (3) 2014, Anand - Carlsen, Norway Chess 2015, with annotations.


© 2000-2015 Boris Schipkov